Pondering making a race gun for USPSA matches.

This is a discussion on Pondering making a race gun for USPSA matches. within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am a HUGE fan of the Baby Eagle. Uncommon, no longer imported, accessories are a PTIA to get. I've been eyeballing one for a ...

Thread: Pondering making a race gun for USPSA matches.

Pondering making a race gun for USPSA matches.

I am a HUGE fan of the Baby Eagle. Uncommon, no longer imported, accessories are a PTIA to get.

I've been eyeballing one for a few months now that is the 2nd gen with the picatinny rail, which is a rarity on an all steel frame. I can get an after market ported barrel, recoil reduction spring (snake oil?), and I found a universal scope mount that attaches to the picatinny rail, so you can put some optics on top.

Gun - $580
    Barrel - $184
    Spring - $65
    Scope mount - $65
    Optic - $100 - $500
    Holster...I'm screwed, I'll have to make one.
    Gunsmithing - I should not need any. SA trigger pull is maybe 5#, DA is #2 (maybe) and the shortest reset I have encountered. Other than maybe snugging up the barrel/slide clearance a touch.

$1k on the low end. That is where my wallet starts to creep up my backside at the thought.

I've never had the opportunity to shoot a race gun, just watch and heard the experiences of those that have shot them (recoil, what's that?).

Anyone want to share their experience in such matters?
    Sticks

Grasseater // Grass~eat~er noun, often attributive \ˈgras-ē-tər\
    A person who is incapable of independent thought; a person who is herd animal-like in behavior; one who cannot distinguish between right and wrong; a foolish person.
    See also Sheep

2. Remove Ads