...Being Delayed...

This is a discussion on ...Being Delayed... within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; ...I hope this is the right forum for my question. If not please excuse me. Every time I go to purchase a handgun the NICS ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: ...Being Delayed...

...Being Delayed...

...I hope this is the right forum for my question. If not please excuse me. Every time I go to purchase a handgun the NICS puts me on a three day delay. I've been curious why this happens? ...I have no criminal background. I have my CCL which my county sheriff's department issued. They do an extensive background check that takes 7 days to get your CCL.

...I've been thinking about asking the Chief of Police in my town to see if he might know. But I haven't had time. What would be the main reason I'm being "Delayed" (not denied)???

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    Is your last name something like Smith, Jones, Johnson or White? It is very possible that there is a felon with the same name.
    Mark Twain:
    The government is merely a servant -- merely a temporary servant; it cannot be its prerogative to determine what is right and what is wrong, and decide who is a
    patriot and who isn't. Its function is to obey orders, not originate them.

Not to be an alarmist, but have you been a victim of identity theft?
    FW21

You may have a common name or someone with your same name my have a spotty record and they need to check it out.

Do you put down your Social Security Number?

You should get a NICS PIN Number so that you can immediately be identified.

From FBI Website FBI — Gun Checks/NICS

How do I initiate a VAF request?