Question

This is a discussion on Question within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am a FL resident who frequently travels throughout the state sometimes spending the night at various hotels/motels some in good safe enviroments and some ...

Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By MattInFla
  • 3 Post By HotGuns
  • 1 Post By hogdaddy
  • 1 Post By Secret Spuk

Thread: Question

Question

I am a FL resident who frequently travels throughout the state sometimes spending the night at various hotels/motels some in good safe enviroments and some in not so good areas. Does anyone know the law in regards to being able to have my weapon and defend myself in/on hotel/motel property? I checked my manual and did not recall reading anything saying I could NOT have the weapon in hotel/motel room. FYI I do have my CCW permit.

Thanks,
    Shaun

2. Remove Ads

I believe, correct me if I am wrong, that the Castle Doctrine includes hotels and motels that you are legally renting. I think the only thing that could stop you would be if the place was posted as no guns allowed.

Ok thanks, guess I need to pay close attention before signing or ask.

Administrator
    You're fine. Although temporary, that hotel room is your home as long as you are occupying it.
    "Just blame Sixto"

Senior Moderator
    May I suggest you get a copy of "Florida Firearms" by Jon Gutmacher? The definitive work on Florida firearms laws, available in many gun stores and on his website.

For purposes of Florida law, your hotel room is treated like your home for the time you rent it. The presumptions in F.S. 776.013 (aka the 'Castle Doctrine') apply.

“Dwelling” means a building or conveyance of any kind, including any attached porch, whether the building or conveyance is temporary or permanent, mobile or immobile, which has a roof over it, including a tent, and is designed to be occupied by people lodging therein at night.
    Matt
    retnavy likes this.