Thinking of starting to Reload

This is a discussion on Thinking of starting to Reload within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hey everyone, From what I have read we have quite a large group who reload their own ammo.I have no experience with this. With the ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Thinking of starting to Reload

Thinking of starting to Reload

Hey everyone,
    From what I have read we have quite a large group who reload their own ammo.I have no experience
    with this. With the price of ammo and the amount of shooting I have been doing recently, I was just wondering how to get started.The Cost of startup, how hard or easy is it to do? What equiptment to buy? As far as calibers go I have a .32,.38sp,357,.380,.45 acp (thats the one that I shoot more often then the others and costs the most). Besides the handguns I also have several rifle calibers also. I will have plenty of time on my hands as I am going in for a Hip-Replacement on Aug 2nd. Got to have something to do! I dont know anyone who dose this so its going to be a learn as you go thing.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
    Tom

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array claude clay's Avatar
    Cabela's on line new cataloger page 114 Lee 4-hole.
    read through that to get an understanding or the terminology and the simple answer is

re-loading pays for itself in less than 1 years worth of shooting. cost to get started with 1 caliber and a 4-hole ~$300.
    add $50 for each caliber.
    good luck.
    Be aware, be deliberate in your actions and be accurate.
    -------------------
    Why do those elected to positions of power than work so hard
    to deny those same opportunities to the same people who empowered them

Great question Tom, I'm in the same boat. Been saving brass, but I have no experience with reloads.
    "One loves to possess arms, though they hope never to have occasion for them."