What do you prefer .17 hmr or .22 mag and why?

This is a discussion on What do you prefer .17 hmr or .22 mag and why? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Which plinking caliber do you prefer and why?...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By 10thmtn

Thread: What do you prefer .17 hmr or .22 mag and why?

Which plinking caliber do you prefer and why?
    I have yet to be attacked by a block of ballistic gelatin but.........

I've not had much experience with the .17 HMR, having only knocked over a armadillo in my friend's garden with his .17 at about 30 yards. Between the .17 and .22 Mag I'm taking the .22 Mag because it is definitely harder hitting down range. I've had some experience with the cartridge and it works well. Is adequately flat shooting too.

For plinking though I'd much prefer the .22 Long Rifle over either of the above.
    Charter Member of the DC .41 LC Society "Get heeled! No really"

“No possible rapidity of fire can atone for habitual carelessness of aim with the first shot.”

Theodore Roosevelt, The Wilderness Hunter, 1893

I am a big fan of .22 mag. I hunt varmint with it extensively. All the .17 has over the .22 mag is range. If I am going out past 150 yards hunting varmint, I grab the .223 anyway.

If I am plinking, I do as bmcgilvray said and choose .22 lr

I like my 17 over the 22. Its more accurate and faster than the 22. Only has 10 ft lbs of energy less than the mag at 100 yds so no huge difference there. They both kill hogs the same. For target I'd use the 17.

I liked the 17 the few times I have shot one but I own a 22 mag. As stated above for plinking 22LR gets my vote.

this is one of my 917v models in .17hmr but i sold it now want it back.....the other wood stock was my 22lr sold as well..
    Attached Images
    I have yet to be attacked by a block of ballistic gelatin but.........

I don't have any experience with the .22 WMR, but I do have a .17 HMR