Defensive Carry banner

Press Checks

3K views 29 replies 19 participants last post by  TSiWRX 
#1 ·
:confused:If Americans do Press Checks to ensure their firearm is loaded I wonder, "Do Israelis do Press Checks to ensure their guns are empty?"

#11 ·
Perhaps it may be your definition of excessive, but as a police officer, I press-checked (or chamber checked as we called it) every day or night before hitting the streets, or left the range. I still check my chamber every time I take my pistol(s) out of the safe, even though I'm 99.9% sure no one else has had access. I do so less often with my Springfield XD, which has a loaded chamber indicator and cocked striker indicator, but I still visually and manually verify their condition.

It's like a pilot who performs a detailed pre-flight inspection in order to know the condition of his craft.

#10 ·
It would be a terrible thing to assume one's firearm is loaded, only to learn in a second of need that it is not. I have a very easy way of knowing my own firearms are either loaded, or unloaded. If a magazine goes into the magwell, a round gets chambered and the mag dropped and topped, then reinserted. Conversely, if the gun is being unloaded, the magazine is dropped, the chamber cleared, and visually inspected.

#9 ·
Yes, there is a difference between always treating your firearms as though it were loaded and confirming that it is. Sometimes people clean their firearms, etc, and forget to put one back into the chamber or, in the case of our family, there are multiple carriers in the home who may work with a firearm and so the true condition of the firearm needs to be confirmed when it is taken back into possession by another party, etc.

It's just SOP here that before the firearm goes out the door the condition of both the magazine and the chamber are confirmed. I.E... a press check.