Defensive Carry banner

Help with my 12ga?

837 views 12 replies 4 participants last post by  RevolvingMag 
#1 ·
May be a repeat of an older thread, if so, sorry. May also be in the wrong place, again, sorry.

I have a Remington 12ga pump. The HD ammo I have is rather ridiculous (Centurion Multi-defense .65" ball + 6 #1 buck pellets). I know this requires no choke. And, possibly would do lots of damage if used with a choke.

I am looking for a mild-moderate choke to tighten up my pattern with field/bird shot. As it stands, my pattern is HUGE at 50yds. Which, I know is somewhat expected. But, I want to tighten it up a bit. Not looking to spend gobs of money on it, so no ridiculous recommendations, please. (i.e. slugs, buckshot, 50bmg, etc.- I know how you 'guys' can get. :tongue: )

Thanks for any and all help, as I am rather new to long guns.

#2 ·
First question, what length barrel are you using? And does it have removable chokes?

What do you define as a "huge" spread at 50 yards?

#3 ·
It's an 887 with a 28"bbl. Says it comes with a modified Rem-choke, but I got it secondhand, and don't think there's a choke in it. I didn't measure it, but, you know the political signs wide enough to have two of the 'H' stands holding it up? It peppered the whole thing, that I could confirm; I'm not sure about how much further out it went.

#4 ·
Well, first of all, if there isn't a choke in there, don't shoot it, or else you can damage the threads.

I'd try contacting Remington, and see if they will send you a set of choke tubes and a wrench for it.

#5 ·
It has something in there, looks like it's nothing more than a spacer to protect the threads. But, looking down the bore- with the barrel NOT on the rest of the frame, it looks like it doesn't narrow the end of the bore any.

#6 ·
#8 ·
The Remington site is how I get almost all my information about it. But, where the choke/spacer is, it's about the same size as the rest of the barrel.

#7 ·