Participated in my first IDPA match...consider me 'hooked'

This is a discussion on Participated in my first IDPA match...consider me 'hooked' within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; All I can say is, "wow." It's been a while since I had any tactical practice, although I've been carrying for 20+ years and have ...

Thread: Participated in my first IDPA match...consider me 'hooked'

Participated in my first IDPA match...consider me 'hooked'

All I can say is, "wow." It's been a while since I had any tactical practice, although I've been carrying for 20+ years and have LEO & Military family members. I took a few defensive courses back in the 90's, and have been putting a lot of hole in paper over the years. I was hesitant to try IDPA, as I figured I was a good marksman and feel it would be a safe environment to be around a lot of folks drawing, moving, and firing.

Well, I was wrong, and I'm totally hooked on IDPA now. Not only was it a tremendous amount of fun, it was safe and I learned so much. Like, learning that I'm not as good as I thought I was ;-) Punching holes in paper at 10 and 25 yds and getting tight groups is OK, but when you haveto move, retreat, use cover, and the adrenalin is pumping it's a whole new world. If you haven't tried it, I highly suggest you seek out a local match. $15 and 150 rounds of ammo were well worth it, can't wait for my next match. The Safety Officers were outstanding, and took time at each stage to critique and coach my performance.
    Exercise your 2nd amendment rights....not doing so jeopardizes that right for everyone.

2. Remove Ads

Amen! My range runs a steel shoot every Tues night, which a I manage to hit about every other week. Shooting against reactive targets, moving, managing ammo, and doing it all against the perceived 'pressure' of the clock or other competitors is leaps and bounds above punching holes in paper from a fixed shooting station.
    Smitty