M1 Garand Thumb !

This is a discussion on M1 Garand Thumb ! within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hi All I am new to the m1 Garand and was having trouble loading my Springfield it was loading stiff or not at all so ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: M1 Garand Thumb !

M1 Garand Thumb !

Hi All
    I am new to the m1 Garand and was having trouble loading my Springfield it was loading stiff or not at all so I was getting use to getting my thumb in there with no repercussions , well I changed out parts with new ones I had ordered from Fultons and it was getting better . Today I tore it down again cleaned and used an industrial silicone spray on it that I have and greased her up and its as smooth as butter now , so I was practicing my loading procedure and it happened I got to comfortable with it and it bite me My fault but I guess I'm in the club now!
    rogertc1 likes this.
    "If you want peace, prepare for war." Si vis pacem, para bellum.

Old Paratroopers never die , we just regroup!!
    82nd ABN DIV.. GOD Bless our Troops!!
    Foward Observer 3/505thPIR - A/319thAFAR
    87-91 "Just Cause - Desert Sheild/Storm"

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array Chaplain Scott's Avatar
    Long, long time ago, when I was in Explorers, our club was hosted by a local NRA chapter, so we had the opportunity to handle, strip and re-assemble (multiple times) and do lots of shooting with old surplus M1 Garands....I distinctly remember, even thru the layers of foggy memory, the infamous M1 thumb........
    Scott, US Army 1974-2004

Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on or one day we will spend our sunset years telling our children what it was once like in the United States where men were free.
    - Ronald Reagan