Newbie here, Please advise. Looking to buy a pistol

This is a discussion on Newbie here, Please advise. Looking to buy a pistol within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm some what new to the sport, Ive mainly have had rifle experience. I'm interested in purchasing a pistol (new). I would like to get ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Newbie here, Please advise. Looking to buy a pistol

I'm some what new to the sport, Ive mainly have had rifle experience. I'm interested in purchasing a pistol (new). I would like to get some opinions on what I should look at. I realize theres going to be a wide range of opinions. So ill try to narrow it down.

Use: Home protection/having fun at the range or property
    Price Range: Up to a 700.00
    45 cal., 9 MM or so
    Good looking gun

Thanks!!

I really like my G19. been having a lot of fun shooting it lately. Shoots well and reliable too.

With the limitations you've set, there are dozens of possibilities. Glock 17 or 19 in 9mm, Glock 21 in 45 acp, Ruger SR9, S&W M&P9, S&W M&P45, Springfield XD9 & XD45, and so on. Get thee to a range that has guns to rent and try as many as you can to see what fits in your hand and what you can shoot comfortably. I CC a SR9C but since you didn't say anything about CC ... Take your time and enjoy the journey.
    GCO Member
    NRA Member
    NRA RSO & Certified Basic Pistol Instructor

Welcome to the DC Forum from Delaware! Take a look at the SA XD40 SC.
    Hiram25
    You can educate ignorance, you can't fix stupid
    Retired DE Trooper, SA XD40 SC, S&W 2" Airweight
    dukalmighty & Pure Kustom Black Ops Pro "Trooper" Holsters, DE CCDW and LEOSA Permits, Vietnam Vet 68-69 Pleiku

I have a G 19 that I love, and my wife's XD sc 9mm is a great gun too. Hopefully by Wed evening I can give a report on my wife's new Kahr CW 9.
    I prefer to live dangerously free than safely caged!