Frustration Personified

This is a discussion on Frustration Personified within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; As a NRA instructor, I try to keep updated on firearm news and pass the current information on to my students. One guy asked if ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By dukalmighty
  • 1 Post By Mike1956
  • 1 Post By HotGuns

Thread: Frustration Personified

Frustration Personified

As a NRA instructor, I try to keep updated on firearm news and pass the current information on to my students.

One guy asked if you could carry a loaded, UNCONCEALED firearm in the car with you in Virginia. Of course I told him yes. It's been this way forever. In fact, since last July, one can also carry a firearm in the glovebox...a change from past rulings that the glovebox must be locked.
    Now another guy said that he'd been pulled over, told the officer that he had a pistol on the seat next to him, and was told that he was in violation of the law and not to do that again.

I re-read the law, and it says " 18.2-308 Personal Protection; Carrying Concealed Weapons; When Lawful to Carry.
    10. Any person who may lawfully possess a firearm and is carrying a handgun while in a personal, private motor vehicle or vessel and such handgun is in a container or compartment in the vehicle or vessel."

Soooo, just to be sure, I called the local police station. NO, NO, says they. Only in towns that have less than 100,000 residents is it legal. AND you cannot carry it in the glovebox.

I thanked him and then called the State Police. THEY say that one cannot carry any loaded firearm without a CCW anywhere in the car.

Hmmmmm.

I then called my lawyer, and he said that I was right. That the police don't want you to know such carry is sanctioned by the State and so out-right lie (MY words) to you regarding this issue. He assured me that if someone came to him with a ticket for doing so he would win handily in court.