9mm AR15 ????

This is a discussion on 9mm AR15 ???? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Okay, I currently own one 9mm S&W 9c and a few shotguns. I REALLY want an AR for SHTF scenario and for shooting crap at ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: 9mm AR15 ????

9mm AR15 ????

Okay, I currently own one 9mm S&W 9c and a few shotguns.

I REALLY want an AR for SHTF scenario and for shooting crap at the range. But ammo cost is a concern and the idea of having one ammo to suit both my needs is appealing.

Who has a 9mm AR and why? Does my logic of universal ammo make sense and what are the advantages/disadvantages to 9mm AR. I would buy a complete rifle rather than building one.

Full disclosure I am a relative newbie to guns, did not grow up with them but love everything about guns and plan on having many more in the future.

Thanks for your advise/comments in advance.

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    Are you sure you want the 9mm in the AR platform vs. other high-capacity 9mm carbines?

I'm with you on thought process...not to eliminate all other calibers, but to have a staple caliber or two that I stockpile the most of...

Anyway, if you can afford an AR...why not? I personally want a keltec sub2000 in 9mm - they use pistol mags (Glock, and I think a couple others). I couldn't find 9mm when I was seriously looking...and I've have looked even harder if they made them that took XD mags.
    Spend few minutes learning about my journey from Zero to Athlete in this mini documentary!
    Then check out my blog! www.BodyByMcDonalds.com

Cupcake - 100 pound loser, adventurer, Ironman Triathlete.

Most Carnines would be fine such as Bushmaster 9MM Carbine 16" w/30 Rd Mag for example.

VIP Member
    I can't comment on the 9mm AR platforms, but I agree with the concept of a good pistol-round carbine.

I have a SUB-2000, and intend to pick up a .38/.357 lever action in the coming year.