Defensive Carry banner

9mm AR15 ????

13K views 20 replies 13 participants last post by  Smitty901 
#1 ·
Okay, I currently own one 9mm S&W 9c and a few shotguns.

I REALLY want an AR for SHTF scenario and for shooting crap at the range. But ammo cost is a concern and the idea of having one ammo to suit both my needs is appealing.

Who has a 9mm AR and why? Does my logic of universal ammo make sense and what are the advantages/disadvantages to 9mm AR. I would buy a complete rifle rather than building one.

Full disclosure I am a relative newbie to guns, did not grow up with them but love everything about guns and plan on having many more in the future. :image035:

Thanks for your advise/comments in advance.

#3 ·
I'm with you on thought process...not to eliminate all other calibers, but to have a staple caliber or two that I stockpile the most of...

Anyway, if you can afford an AR...why not? I personally want a keltec sub2000 in 9mm - they use pistol mags (Glock, and I think a couple others). I couldn't find 9mm when I was seriously looking...and I've have looked even harder if they made them that took XD mags.

#6 ·
The only reason I would do that is if it was suppressed and probably not even then. Don't particularly care for the idea of carrying the weight of a rifle (or storing/hiding/concealing the size of a rifle) that only fires pistol ammo - you don't gain much over what a pistol will do and can't get near what a rifle cartridge will do. For every $1k you spend on ammo, you only get an extra 1500 9mm rounds (checked an online bulk dealer). The recent ammo "shortage" showed that all ammo will be scarce, including 9mm and .223, so you can only count on what you have on hand. Buy a rifle in a rifle cartridge and learn how to shoot your pistol (1.5" groups @ 7 yds/all shots in scoring rings on a B27 @ 50 yds - offhand).

#7 ·
An AR platform in a 9mm is a big waste of money. There are a few much lower cost options that would do a better job. With the 9mm.