Any problems dry firing revolvers?

This is a discussion on Any problems dry firing revolvers? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Don't own any but at Cabelas in was looking at the Ruger LCR which by all accounts has an awesome trigger based on cams and ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Any problems dry firing revolvers?

Any problems dry firing revolvers?

Don't own any but at Cabelas in was looking at the Ruger LCR which by all accounts has an awesome trigger based on cams and little or no stacking. Well imwanted to feel the smooth trigger pull and got yelled at like I was a novice. Was told you don't drop a hammer on an empty chamber. Any validity or is this just another gun store know it all who is misinformed dearly?

2. Remove Ads

I was brought up with the no dry fire rule and it has been a part of my life for so long, I automatically adhere to it. Don't know if technology has eliminated the need or not.
    Never pick a fight with an old man...If he's too old to fight, he'll just kill you - John Steinbeck
    Come to Colorado...the governor is loopy
    .................................................. .................................................. ......................They Live

VIP Member
    My understanding is that unless it is a rimfire weapon, modern firearms can be dry fired without a problem.
    It's the Land of Opportunity, not the Land of Entitlements - Vote America!!!

"When governments fear the people there is liberty. When the people fear the government there is tyranny." Thomas Jefferson

You are only paranoid until you are right - then you are a visionary.

Most, if not all, modern revolvers can be dry fired with no problem, and state so in the operating instructions. However, any firing (dry or live) tends to "ring" the cylinder. A dealer wouldn't want a brand new revolver to show any use - hence the "no dry firing" policy.
    Steve