distance you practice from?

This is a discussion on distance you practice from? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hello, I'm new to ccw and have been shooting my SA XD40 at the range ,practicing. I recently bought a S&W 442 38Special and went ...

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree27Likes

Thread: distance you practice from?

Hello, I'm new to ccw and have been shooting my SA XD40 at the range ,practicing. I recently bought a S&W 442 38Special and went and shot it today. i was really humbled when i shot this 38, it was harder to shoot than i thought, compared to my XD. My question is the range i shot at won't let you shoot closer than 25 yds, and to me this is ridiculous for this guns practicallity. I would assume 15-20 ft at the most, not 75ft. What are your thoughts on this? I need to find a place where i can start closer and then move the target out farther once i get used to the gun. I hope i never have to use it but i don't believe i'd ever shoot out that far with this 38. thanks for any advice and input. Randy

I'm practicing for self defense. So at the indoor range it's 3-10 yards. Outside I'll go zero to 10. I don't get out past 10 much with handguns. Out to 5 yrds I rarely use sights either. You'll get plenty of different answers though.
    I prefer to live dangerously free than safely caged!

"Our houses are protected by the good Lord and a gun. And you might meet 'em both if you show up here not welcome son." Josh Thompson "Way Out Here"

10 yards max. I'm practicing SELF DEFENSE, not marksmanship. For that I have a rifle and a proper 5 inch 1911. :)
    Diddle likes this.

VIP Member
    Yes, you will need to find another range. while long distance handgun shooting can be fun and challenging, it has little bearing on what you are trying to do. Bad breath to 5 yards is your "working" range in most situations.

Also, try to find a location that allows movement and presentation from the holster.