Larger LCR Possible?

Larger LCR Possible?

This is a discussion on Larger LCR Possible? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hi guys. I'm a complete newbie to the gun community. As such, I've been doing a LOT of research and the level of engineering and ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By tkruf
  • 1 Post By Nutrodoc
  • 1 Post By JoJoGunn

Thread: Larger LCR Possible?

Larger LCR Possible?

Hi guys. I'm a complete newbie to the gun community. As such, I've been doing a LOT of research and the level of engineering and design that goes into firearms continues to astound me. Despite my young age, I find myself inexplicably drawn to revolvers. The Ruger LCR in .357 catches my eye as a possible concealed carry option.

In researching the LCR, I was amazed how Ruger was able to infuse new life into the proven design of the snubnose. The use of polymer housing and gel inserts has enabled a lighter-weight revolver that still shoots well. This led me to start thinking about whether Ruger may try to bring the LCR into a larger frame (ie. SP101 or GP100). I know that their existing models perform very well but I'm always excited to see innovation.

So what do you guys think? I know many of you know much more about engineering and firearms than I do. Were you guys shocked when the LCR first released? Do you think it likely that we will see a larger version of the LCR down the road? If not, please feel free to explain.

DC
    They could name it the KOLNSCR (kind of lightweight not so compact revolver)

Joking aside, if I go for a larger revolver I'd want an all metal design...not that I don't love my LCR.

So I guess my answer is no.

I was looking into getting an LCR for a family member. Then I held the thing.... It's like... a rolling pin they designed backwards... or a revolver they designed for a double stack mag lol... SP101 and GP100 are not small revolvers. I'm still looking around now. Any awesome suggestions are welcome.