Is My Gun Sighted For Me?

This is a discussion on Is My Gun Sighted For Me? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm still relatively new to firearms & am a few months into my honeymoon w/ M&P9c. I'm still struggling w/ a tendency to shoot a ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I'm still relatively new to firearms & am a few months into my honeymoon w/ M&P9c. I'm still struggling w/ a tendency to shoot a bit wide right. I shoot southpaw. I've been playing a/ how I hold the firearm, how I pull the trigger, & how I aim.

I was wondering if any of you guys think this could be part of my issue: is it possible my gun is not properly sighted for me? I had someone at my local range look at it to see if it was sighted properly & he thought so but he shoots right handed. Here's a pic of my gun:

It seemed to me that the rear sight was set a touch to the right.
    Any thoughts?

Distinguished Member Array Burns's Avatar
    Normally it's the shooter, it's better to correct your form than mess with the sights. There's a chart that shows what you could be doing wrong based on which direction your shots are off but I don't have time to find it right now, I will later if no one posts it sooner.
    Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable- JFK

Distinguished Member Array sid1's Avatar
    First and formost to rule out your gun sights you should shoot using a benchrest, this will tell you if your gun sights are off or your holding you gun wrong

Quote Originally Posted by sid1 View Post
    First and formost to rule out your gun sights you should shoot using a benchrest, this will tell you if your gun sights are off or your holding you gun wrong
    ^^^

This
    Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable- JFK

It's possible that it's not sighted correctly.