OK for Strong Hand Thumb to Rest on Slide Release?

This is a discussion on OK for Strong Hand Thumb to Rest on Slide Release? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; OK, I am fairly new to shooting. Just did my concealed carry permit class a couple weeks ago, so please bear with me . I ...

Thread: OK for Strong Hand Thumb to Rest on Slide Release?

OK, I am fairly new to shooting. Just did my concealed carry permit class a couple weeks ago, so please bear with me .

I have a Sig P250 subcompact. When going through dryfire practice, I've noticed that my strong hand thumb always comes to rest on the slide release button on the side. I have both thumbs forward and am training myself to use the grip that Paul Gomez described in his videos. Is it OK for the thumb to rest on that button or could I be interfering with something there?

I guess I might be interfering with the slide staying locked once my magazine is empty... Which would make reloads more cumbersome, correct?

correct, there is not much pressure forcing the slide stop up on the empty mag...putting your thumb there can definitely interfere.

Distinguished Member
    ^^^What he said and it will. I try to always put my strong hand thumb on top of the weak hand thumb to prevent this. Thats what I've seen you should do.
    The stupidity of some people NEVER ceases to amaze me.

G19 AIWB

gungrip.jpg

So I don't have a lot of options on this gun if I want my grip still to be high to help with recoil... The gun grip is already somewhat low in relation to the slide compared to other guns I believe. Should I just try to train muscle memory to "bury" that thumb a little or cross it more over the weak hand?
    Last edited by vca2004; August 14th, 2012 at 08:27 PM. Reason: added something