New to firearms: Properties of your ideal gun for home defense?

This is a discussion on New to firearms: Properties of your ideal gun for home defense? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hello, I am new to firearms and hope to get my Illinois FOID card soon and start exploring some gun options. Eventually, I would like ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: New to firearms: Properties of your ideal gun for home defense?

New to firearms: Properties of your ideal gun for home defense?

Hello,

I am new to firearms and hope to get my Illinois FOID card soon and start exploring some gun options. Eventually, I would like several guns including a rifle for fun and target shooting but for now want to pick my first pistol. It will be used for target shooting and home defense only. I live in town but hope to move into the country someday. I am not asking for a first gun recommendation, but instead I wonder how each of you value the following properties of a pistol or revolver for home defense.

Simplicity
    - Revolver vs SA only vs DA/SA vs DAO(Glocks, M&P, etc)

Materials for Barrels
    - Stainless vs ?
    I like the M&P9 in theory because of its stainless slide and barrel. Are there downsides to a stainless barrel?

Materials for Slides
    - Stainless vs Alloy vs ?

Materials for Frames
    - Poly vs Stainless vs Alloy vs Aluminum

I am asking these questions because my gut tells me to get a simple, implying very reliable, all stainless steel semi-auto. Does this really make sense if some smaller internal parts and springs will rust anyway and need replacing? Will non-stainless parts last a lifetime with proper care?

I appreciate any input you have time for.

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    First off, welcome to the forum.