Need help deciding on a home defense firearm

This is a discussion on Need help deciding on a home defense firearm within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hi, I am a Infantry Marine War Veteran, first of all. Just putting that out there to show that I am not new to firearms. ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Need help deciding on a home defense firearm

Need help deciding on a home defense firearm

Hi, I am a Infantry Marine War Veteran, first of all. Just putting that out there to show that I am not new to firearms. Lately I have been having a difficult time deciding on a firearm. This will be the first firearm I own, and it's main purpose will be home defense. Although, I would also like to have it for possible open carry in a bug out situation. I went to the range the other day and compared a Glock 23 with a Sig Sauer P229 (in .40), the Glock felt horrible to me, it didn't fit my hand, and the recoil was way to much (and I've shot M1911's with mil spec recoil rods), however, the Sig on the other hand was smooth, and it fit my hand well. I was wondering if putting a rubber grip sleeve on the Glock would fix the grip problem, and maybe a tungsten guide rod to lower the recoil. Or if I should just go full size and try the Glock 22 and Sig Sauer P226 (in .40). I've read that a compact pistol is not ideal for home defense. So pretty much I'm just wondering if putting a sleeve (Like a Hogue Handall) on a Glock 23 helps, or should I just go full size. I am somewhat partial to Glock because I plan on joining the Chicago PD in a couple of years, and it's DAO with them, otherwise I would pick the Sig hands down.

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    H&K HK 45??? a bit large for conceal carry but side arm

How about a Ruger SP101. Great grip size. Welcome home bro!