What's your opinion of the Kahr CW9

This is a discussion on What's your opinion of the Kahr CW9 within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have a gun that I am getting rid of because I purchased something that fills the same niche but I enjoy shooting more, so ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By sensei2

Thread: What's your opinion of the Kahr CW9

I have a gun that I am getting rid of because I purchased something that fills the same niche but I enjoy shooting more, so I put the old gun up for sale or trade. I was contacted by someone that has a Kahr CW9 that he is offering in trade. I was looking for something single stack and relatively compact, that would be easier to carry in light clothing than my SR9c. I have zero experience with Kahr firearms. How do they stack up against the other options in that general category? I was considering something like the Ruger LC9, Beretta Nano or KelTec PF9. The CW9 is a bit bigger in length and height than those two from the looks of it.

The buyer is putting cash on the trade to make the trade even, so I'm not really coming up or losing out on the trade, I just don't know anything about the quality of Kahr's products and how they compare to other guns that would fill the same role.

from following user/owner comments on this site, and being the owner of the similar, but slightly smaller CM-9, here are my conclusions:

1. some buyers/owners (like me)(i'd guess more than half, maybe as high as 75%), have been VERY satisfied with their Kahrs. others (very vocal others, and understandably so) have had problems with theirs - sometimes minor, but more often very major. (many trips back to the factory, much swearing, eventually labeling it a POS).