Hawaii gun laws and Veterans

This is a discussion on Hawaii gun laws and Veterans within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I live in Hawaii and I'm a veteran. I have heard that it's hard for Veterans to get guns here because they won't give you ...

Thread: Hawaii gun laws and Veterans

Hawaii gun laws and Veterans

I live in Hawaii and I'm a veteran. I have heard that it's hard for Veterans to get guns here because they won't give you a permit if you've ever seen a psychiatrist at the VA. I do not see one but they sent me to one when I started going there because they think we're all nuts, LOL. Anyone have any info on
    this or know where I can get it without having to call the police station? I'm wondering what it says on the form and if I can get around this. I've heard you need a doctors certificate or something but I'm wondering if it matters what kind of a doctor. Thanks for your help.

2. Remove Ads

Im not sure but just seeing a psychiatrist shouldnt nessecarily disqualify you. Unless your information is being shared (illegaly) no one is going to know except you, the VA and the doctor.

Being declared mentaly unstable is a disqualifying reason in Tennessee for owning a firearm.

The only way I can think the state would know is if the psych visit was court ordered. In which case the court would know and it goes on your record. Otherwise your healthcare information should be protected.
    "The thing about quotes on the internet is that you can not confirm their validity."
    -Abraham Lincoln

"A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky. dangerous animals."
    -Agent K

I think there's a question on the permit app and this state is so wacked when it comes to gun laws. I could probably lie but I do think I need a form signed by a doctor. I'm not
    really sure which is why I'm trying to get some info.

VIP Member
    Here is a link to the application process. Permit to Aquire