New to Duck/Goose Hunting, questions.

This is a discussion on New to Duck/Goose Hunting, questions. within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; So, I'm new to waterfowl and hunting in general. I have gone goose hunting once on my brother-in-law's private land but that's it. Where are ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: New to Duck/Goose Hunting, questions.

So, I'm new to waterfowl and hunting in general. I have gone goose hunting once on my brother-in-law's private land but that's it.

Where are we allowed to go hunting in Wisconsin? Any public land? State parks? Is there a map of this?

Also, what size shot do you guys prefer for either goose or duck. Do you think black cloud shells are worth the money?

Thanks

I haven't hunted waterfowl in 10 years ever since I became disabled,for ducks I used steel #4,for geese I used either steel BB or BBB,they have come out with new stuff since then,but I just couldn't see paying over 50 cents per shot and back then the "Estate" shells were running about $6 box.
    Your State should produce maps with public hunting access locations and any specific regs for that area,one thing I found was it usually took a couple seasons of hunting and talking to other hunters to figure out the best area unless you are lucky enough to find an old hunter to go with.
    Also once you get a map of locations before the season opens go do some scouting with binoculars and figure out where your going,on public land it's first come first serve so we used to get there about 1-2 hours before shooting times to get a spot and set decoys,can't remember how many times we had hunters walking in to find a spot right at shooting hours and incoming birds spotting them and flying off,or either having no decoys so they set up where they can shoot at birds coming in on yours,or throwing theirs out close enough that when they shoot your getting peppered with falling shot.