Ammo question from newb.

This is a discussion on Ammo question from newb. within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hello. Let me start by saying that I am a complete newbie to everything. Since a kid I have always been fascinated by guns. My ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ammo question from newb.

Ammo question from newb.

Hello. Let me start by saying that I am a complete newbie to everything. Since a kid I have always been fascinated by guns. My mother was very anti-gun. No bb guns, no airsoft, no paintball. Well I applied for a pistol permit here in gun-hating new York, and was approved for a full carry. I purchased a Ruger lc9 since it seems to be highly rated and reccomended. I do not know anyone with any kind of firearm, including hunting. So I have to depend on forums and you tube to learn cleaning, field stripping, etc.

That being said, I pick up my lc9 from the ffl on Tuesday. I would like to take it down to a range after I clean it. I went to my local Walmart, and they have 4 different brands of 9mm ammo. For reference they are:

TULAMMO, FEDERAL, WINCHESTER, & REMMINGTON, all are 115 gr. FMJ.

My question is this. For simple range shooting, is FMJ good to use? And what are the primary types of ammo that are used, I know of 3(FMJ, hollow point, self defense), but what are the others, and what's the difference between them.

I realize this is a newb question, but I don't have anyone to ask.

Thanks,
    DJ

2. Remove Ads

Welcome to the forum DJ! Don't worry, we were all in your shoes once.

FMJ does seem to be a popular range ammo due to its lower cost. I've always shot either Speer or Winchester brand ammo because those have never given me any issues at the range. When I'm not a the range, I carry Speer Gold Dots which are hollow point bullets.

For range ammo I would try and find the stuff that is least expensive which shouldn't be a problem for 9mm.

Congrats on your new gun!

Distinguished Member