Giving persuasive speech for concealed carry on campus. Help?

This is a discussion on Giving persuasive speech for concealed carry on campus. Help? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hey guys- I'm a college student and I'm currently taking a speech class. Our next assignment is a persuasive speech, and I've chosen the hot-button ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Giving persuasive speech for concealed carry on campus. Help?

Hey guys-
    I'm a college student and I'm currently taking a speech class. Our next assignment is a persuasive speech, and I've chosen the hot-button topic of concealed carry on college campuses. Obviously I'm arguing in favor of it, as campuses see far too many of what I believe are preventable crimes.

I am hoping to glean additional credible resources from this forum. Articles by experts, news stories, etc. Also hoping to learn more about concerns presented by CC opponents.

Right now, the thrust of my argument is the subject of violent crimes on campus, as well as the issues of being disarmed for the remainder of the day for commuters/ working students, and the fact that students are entrusted with many responsibilities but are considered too much of a risk to be allowed to carry.

One concern my professor voiced when I discussed the matter with him was that students with tempers might react violently to poor grades if not given a chance to cool off (eg a cc'er might draw on him over an F in a fit of passion). Obviously this seems ridiculous to many of us, but I'm planning to address that concern by pointing out that gun free zones only apply to those who follow the law. The validation for his concern is this: when I was in HS, I had a teacher who would not accept food from students, because a colleague of hers had had a disgruntled student attempt to poison her with some tainted cookies.