need help on a decision

need help on a decision

This is a discussion on need help on a decision within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hey, I am thinking of buying some sort of rifle, im not experienced with anything except handguns and shotguns. I was wondering if an AR ...

Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By jryan630
  • 1 Post By BigJon10125
  • 2 Post By NCSoxFan
  • 1 Post By mulle46
  • 1 Post By archer51
  • 1 Post By dangerranger

Thread: need help on a decision

need help on a decision

Hey, I am thinking of buying some sort of rifle, im not experienced with anything except handguns and shotguns. I was wondering if an AR type of rifle in 22 is a waste of money for a defensive weapon?

I'd like to save up for a .223/556 or I really like the M4 carbine 6920 by the looks but its out of the budget, My question is is it even worth it to buy a 22LR for self defense or jsut save that and put it towards a real AR or AK

Thanks

Anything is better than nothing when it comes to self defense. I would probably wait and buy a 223 later if it's not to long of a wait.
    mg27 likes this.
    The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing. ~Burke, Edmund

Proud owner of a G35. And yes I carry it concealed.

A .22 is better than nothing but according to posts I've read here there are 5.56 ARs that are good and half the price of the Colt.
    mg27 likes this.
    BigJon

"Better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool than to open it and remove all doubt" ~ Mark Twain

What is your budget for an Ar? Do you have a shotgun now?
    You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, "I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along." . . . You must do the thing you think you cannot do. Eleanor Roosevelt