To protect my family and home = Is a Glock 19 a good choice??

This is a discussion on To protect my family and home = Is a Glock 19 a good choice?? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have been doing a lot of research on a hand gun for protection for my family and home. In this day and age I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question To protect my family and home = Is a Glock 19 a good choice??

I have been doing a lot of research on a hand gun for protection for my family and home. In this day and age I feel it is more important than very to own a gun. I am new to guns and looking for some advise? Looking online and talking with people, I have heard a lot of good things about a Glock 19 , but wonder if this is a good choice for my wife?. Seems as tho this gun is a little expensive(don't know = new). What other guns are good and reliable with a lower price. I know you get what you pay for. I don't have the money now for a gun, but have a 1941 mauser in mint condition( a friend said this gun has been shot no more than a dozen times and no marks on gun at all including wood handle and hostel almost no wear) and have confirmed all markings on gun to be correct. I don't know if this gun has been shot since = don't know when and wonder if it would be reliable. Seems to me as this gun would be better with a true collector ( looking online a gun not in this condition are bringing very close to $1000.00. Looking to maybe sell this gun and get a Glock 19 (or other suggestions) and ahhh maybe a new water heater for the house LOL LOL = not really tho,( it's winter and hot water is good) or maybe another gun for me or my wife to carry. Does anyone know the laws in Pa. for carrying a pistol??? Is a Glock 19 too big to conceal or what other suggestion might you give me??? Sorry for going on soo long = have alot to learn. Thanks