Okay, here is the deal.

Okay, here is the deal.

This is a discussion on Okay, here is the deal. within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I need a little help. I'm a college student, 21, I own a 10/22 that I bought the day I turned 18 and an S&W ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Okay, here is the deal.

Unhappy Okay, here is the deal.

I need a little help.

I'm a college student, 21, I own a 10/22 that I bought the day I turned 18 and an S&W M&P Shield that I bought to carry when back in my home state, but these two firearms alone don't make me feel "prepared for anything." What I want is a decent rifle that will serve the purpose an AR-15 would. I know with the current political climate an AR-15 is nearly impossible to come by, and I have already written my representatives multiple times, and joined the NRA, trust me i'm in the fight. I know i'm ridiculously late to the game... but I can't help it.

So what should someone in my position do? I'd like something chambered in .223 or higher, preferably semi-auto, that I can customize to be effective at medium to long range (out to maybe 400yds). I have spent a little time looking at different AR-15 builds, but I really feel helpless in getting my hands on anything like that. The M1A comes to mind, but I am really lost in a sea of confusion and lack of supply as to which direction to go.

My LGS had a used Ruger Mini-14 in stock the other day, should I just be watching like a hawk trying to pick up whatever I can get my hands on? Would it be worth it to place an order for a Colt LE6920 or something similar and just wait? HELP!
    Living a life free from fear, means being able to protect it at all times.
    Play stupid games, win stupid prizes.
    NRA

Ruger Mini-14 is where Id go.. before you cant get those either.