Took my daughter shooting for the first time today.

This is a discussion on Took my daughter shooting for the first time today. within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I started shooting about 40 years ago, but had been inactive for about 15 years. I started back up about a year ago. I finally ...

Like Tree4Likes
  • 3 Post By blanco64
  • 1 Post By NCSoxFan

Thread: Took my daughter shooting for the first time today.

I started shooting about 40 years ago, but had been inactive for about 15 years. I started back up about a year ago. I finally got my 20 year old daughter to the range today for her first outing.

We covered the basics before leaving for the range: Safety, operation, grip and stance, and marksmanship, including dry-fire with snap caps. She initially had a preference for the revolver because she could see how it operated.

She first shot the S&W Model 10 .38 Special. She's kind of small and the gun was a little big for her hands. She had some difficulty reaching the trigger, and between that and the heavy trigger had a difficult time hitting the target.

She next shot the Springfield XD40SC. The recoil was quite a bit more than she was expecting. However, due to the smaller size and the lighter trigger she was quite a bit more accurate.

She then shot a couple of rounds out of her boyfriends full-size S&W 9mm. The recoil was quite a bit more manageable for her, but by this time she was starting to complain about her hands being cold (outdoor range, 4" of fresh snow).

If I had a smaller caliber handgun (22, 380, 9mm) I would have started her on that. But you have to use what you have. I could have started her on a 22LR rifle, but she wanted to shoot a handgun.

On the plus side, she wants to go out again, and also wants to try shooting clays, although she's a little concerned about shooting a 12 gauge. She also wants to shoot the Type 53 after she gets a little more comfortable shooting.

2. Remove Ads