Heading to the Range - First Time

This is a discussion on Heading to the Range - First Time within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Newbie here. I have some history with firearms, but have only recently decided to pick up my own handgun and I've signed up for a ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Heading to the Range - First Time

Newbie here. I have some history with firearms, but have only recently decided to pick up my own handgun and I've signed up for a basic handgun skills class. My folks had rifles and a couple of handguns around the house when I was growing up, but I learned to shoot outdoors and I've never actually set foot on an indoor range. Nowadays, I find myself living in an urban area and an indoor range is pretty much my only option.

So, here are my questions. When I go to my local indoor range, do the automated target carriers have instructions on use printed nearby or will I have to inquire with the range officer on how to use the carrier? Also, I'm assuming I will need to bring my own targets and a method of attaching them to the target carrier. Is that accurate? If so, what are the preferred methods of attachment? I recognize that these are basic questions, but I just want to show up prepared and knowing what to expect.

Thanks for your help.

Usually the ranges have an assortment of targets can buy but most will allow you to bring your own. As to attaching, many use tape and some have clips. You'll have to find that out when you get there. You can call ahead and ask these to be a bit more prepared. The absolute MOST important thing is that you follow ALL the safety rules, not just the 4 basics but any additional rules the range may have posted.

Most ranges will go out of their way to help a new shooter as long as you ask. Don't just guess if you have a question ask the range officer. There are no stupid questions on the firing range.

Good luck, be safe, and have fun!