Pro's and Con's of leaving your magazines loaded, help settle a debate

This is a discussion on Pro's and Con's of leaving your magazines loaded, help settle a debate within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am relatively new to gun ownership and have had several discussions with people regarding keeping your extra magazines loaded for quick use or empty ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Pro's and Con's of leaving your magazines loaded, help settle a debate

I am relatively new to gun ownership and have had several discussions with people regarding keeping your extra magazines loaded for quick use or empty to keep the spring stronger. There seems to be two schools of thought on this and I am not sure which way to go. I have extra magazines for my 9 mm and A.R.---what do you do?

I use two mags..... keep one mag loaded and one empty.... rotate regularly. For HD, I use a Glock 22 as primary and a Ruger SR40C as back up...Sr40C for EDC also. I like to replace my mag springs on my birthday every year also. I have 15 rnd mags ion the glock and 9 rnd mags in the ruger. If a HD situation reguires me to shoot everything I have I am in serious trouble to begin with. YMMV......
    ”God grants Liberty only to those who love it, and are always ready to guard and defend it.”
    ~Daniel Webster

Your points are shallow... my points are Hollow....

The spring couldn't care less either way. I have a Browning Hi Power magazine that has been loaded for the last 15 years and it still works as good as it did the day I bought it.
    dV8r, BugDude, phreddy and 1 others like this.
    ”Those who give up their liberty for more security neither deserve liberty nor security.”
    Ben Franklin

Distinguished Member