Gun Safe Question

This is a discussion on Gun Safe Question within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have no experience with gun safes.......Growing up my dad kept his "extra guns" locked in the closet. I have an old gun safe in ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By jcm
  • 1 Post By RETSUPT99

Thread: Gun Safe Question

Gun Safe Question

I have no experience with gun safes.......Growing up my dad kept his "extra guns" locked in the closet. I have an old gun safe in good condition (no rust, ect.) that I am about to refurbish (paint, change locks, add shelves, ect.). I live in Fl....... Do I NEED a dehumidifier in it? Right now I keep my firearms in my closet and they are free from rust. Currently we live in an older mobile home and it is rather drafty and not at all "air tight" so our A/C unit will not really help much in keeping out the humidity. However, the guns are doing fine in my closet, so, wouldn't they be fine in my safe without a dehumidifier?

Thanks,
    BekahM

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array BlueNinjaGo's Avatar
    If they're doing fine as it is, a few desiccant packs might help. They aren't expensive and can help. Cheaper than a dehumidifier I would assume.

Thats what a friend of mine also suggested. Also, would you recommend an electronic lock or keyed locks? It came with two tubular cam locks, but I can install either one.

I'd go with a keyed lock. Electronic locks have spotty reputations. Spin dial would be better.
    Magazine <> clip - know the difference

martyr is a fancy name for crappy fighter
    You have never lived until you have almost died. For those that have fought for it, life has a special flavor the protected will never know

30 dollar remington dehumidifier works great.

dial lock (like on a high school locker) is best.

fire resistant safe is best.

Yes, if their fine in your closet they'll be fine in your safe.
    Psalm 144:1