Antique shotguns

This is a discussion on Antique shotguns within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am a newbie, so this may not be the correct spot to ask my question.... Where can I find some information about an antique ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By gasmitty
  • 1 Post By msgt/ret

Thread: Antique shotguns

Antique shotguns

I am a newbie, so this may not be the correct spot to ask my question....

Where can I find some information about an antique double barrel 12 ga. from a great grandfather as a wall hanger, and am trying to find out some info about it. It has "FINEST DAMASCUS" steel barrels, and the only name I can find on it is "Pribyl Bros Chicago" in the engraving. I also have one empty shell casing that appears to be made of copper. I am most interested in information, but pricing estimate would be nice if I need to add it to home insurance.

2. Remove Ads

It's not a common brand, to be sure. I did a quick search and only found a catalog or reference book on GunBroker, here: Pribyl Bros. 1879 Shotguns, Rifles, Revolvers & S : Books at GunBroker.com It might be worth getting that book to understand more about the gun. From the cover, Pribyl appears to be an "importer and jobber" rather than a manufacturer, which suggests that your shotgun was actually made by a separate firm and Pribyl sold it under their name - which means more research is necessary.

Realistically, you'll need to search out an appraiser of antique firearms to get a true value of the gun. Pick up a copy of the Double Gun Journal at a Barnes and Noble magazine rack, and you will undoubtedly find ads in the back for people who deal in old double guns. Give some of them a call and see what they say.