New Sig 1911-45 TTT & 4 of 6 Times Slide Did Not Lock Back After Final Round Fire??

This is a discussion on New Sig 1911-45 TTT & 4 of 6 Times Slide Did Not Lock Back After Final Round Fire?? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I think this could be a problem! I fired ten 5 round mags yesterday and among them the slide did not lock back after the ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: New Sig 1911-45 TTT & 4 of 6 Times Slide Did Not Lock Back After Final Round Fire??

New Sig 1911-45 TTT & 4 of 6 Times Slide Did Not Lock Back After Final Round Fire??

I think this could be a problem! I fired ten 5 round mags yesterday and among them the slide did not lock back after the last round was fired on 4 of the 10 mags. This is a brand new Sig 1911 (50 rounds fired 10 days before this happened) and my first thought was "Factory" time. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I am new to 1911's (well, since the '70's and AD Army days).
    This will be one of the handguns I will carry (finally got my permit after 3 months and a week), but not until I feel confident I will know it is empty. Thanks, Free

PS Any thoughts/recomendations on the insurance protection through NRA and other sources for carry coverage?
    Last edited by Free; March 16th, 2013 at 03:50 PM. Reason: corrections/more info.

2. Remove Ads

How many different mags did you use? If you used two and it was the same one that failed each time, then a defective mag is involved. The customer service at Sig is very good and can probably pin point this for you. Good luck.

Are you maybe blocking the slide release with your grip? With both thumbs forward on my old xd9 i hit the slide release without knowing it. Took me awhile to figure out it was my grip causing the problem
    Tzadik likes this.