Helpful Tips and Advice for a Novice

This is a discussion on Helpful Tips and Advice for a Novice within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hi. My name is Susan. I just joined this site this evening. I am a complete newcomer to the world of guns. I have a ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: Helpful Tips and Advice for a Novice

Helpful Tips and Advice for a Novice

Hi. My name is Susan. I just joined this site this evening. I am a complete newcomer to the world of guns. I have a really big dog, I have a security system and I live 8/10ths of a mile from the local sheriff substation. (And none of that is good enough.) I am a professional person, and I never would have considered owning a weapon for defending myself until a few pivotal and recent events.

First ... the dog park in a relatively secluded area and a man who shows up without a dog ... no one around ... he follows me back to the parking area ... after commenting on my lovely smile ... not sure why ... but the man (a complete stranger to me) was downright creepy/ scarey ... and I had an intuitive sense that something just wasn't right with him. I kept my dog between him and me.

Nothing happened, but I became acutely aware of my total and complete vulnerability as a woman. And a cell phone with 911 pre-programmed on speed dial isn't good enough either.

Then there is all the craziness of the world today ... the shootings ... the violence ... the men and women who go to the grocery store or the post office or (anywhere) and simply vanish. I don't want to be that woman whose skeletal remains are found in a remote area ... I don't want to be that woman who is raped and robbed and tortured and murdered.