When magazines fail... what fails?

This is a discussion on When magazines fail... what fails? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm fairly new to simi's, about a year, but I hear lots of talk of mag failures. I'm over 5k rounds on my XDm 9mm ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: When magazines fail... what fails?

Distinguished Member Array SCXDm9's Avatar

When magazines fail... what fails?

I'm fairly new to simi's, about a year, but I hear lots of talk of mag failures. I'm over 5k rounds on my XDm 9mm 4k one one mag another thousand spread between 2 or three other mags and no issues yet.

When they fail, what fails?
    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
    Friends don't let friends wear fanny packs!!!

Open carry is to hand gun as blue tooth's are to cell phone!

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array Anubis's Avatar
    (a) Base plate comes off, cartridges and magazine innards fall out.

(b)While carrying the pistol on the left side, you lean against something that depresses the mag release; next time the mag points down it falls out.

Follower tilts and gets stuck, does not feed the next round.
    My metal band: Born under Sirius

Glock 23, mic holster, clipdraw, abdominal carry.

VIP Member
    Feed lips get damaged then will not feed.
    OldVet, aogiss, OD* and 1 others like this.
    When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
    "Don't forget, incoming fire has the right of way."

Distinguished Member Array oldman45's Avatar
    Spring breaks and rounds will not feed right.

Mag failure is over discussed. I have been shooting several thousands of rounds per year in all kinds of guns for over 45 years. Only once have I had a mag fail and that was due to damage.

Buy quality mags and you likely will never have it happen to you.

VIP Member
    Sometimes they go gently into the good night, other times, well, it's quite a show.