New gun owner in a pickle!!!! Please help!!

New gun owner in a pickle!!!! Please help!!

This is a discussion on New gun owner in a pickle!!!! Please help!! within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I just bought my first firearm less than a week ago. I've had private lessons and plan on getting a CCW for my Kahr P9. ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree31Likes

Thread: New gun owner in a pickle!!!! Please help!!

Exclamation New gun owner in a pickle!!!! Please help!!

I just bought my first firearm less than a week ago. I've had private lessons and plan on getting a CCW for my Kahr P9. I work on private property my family owns. I'm a farmer and carry the weapon for protection, because I'm the only woman out there and it's miles away from anything.

Recently I encountered a dog fight. Three dogs were attacking one. Was I right in firing a round five feet away from myself into the ground? There were no other people around and the ground is guaranteed to not have anything that a bullet could ricochet off of as it is an orchard.

This may sound like a dumb question and while I think my actions were within reason, my aunt/ boss now doesn't want me carrying the weapon.

Any opinions and/or resources would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

If you are that far out, and on private property, you did nothing illegal. Of course the property owners can limit what you can and can't do.

But, what if those were feral dogs and decided to attack you? Happens more often than people think. I believe you are smart to have a little something handy to protect yourself.
    dV8r, archer51, Mjr_Fail and 4 others like this.
    Ignorance is a long way from stupid, but left unchecked, can get there real fast.

Administrator
    In that scenario if it did the trick I don't have any problem with your action.
    And I am pretty sure that there is one dog that was mighty glad that you did what you did.