new member need suggestions

This is a discussion on new member need suggestions within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am a new member here and I mainly signed up to learn some pointers on carrying since I will be getting my ccw soon ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: new member need suggestions

I am a new member here and I mainly signed up to learn some pointers on carrying since I will be getting my ccw soon (only 20 now). the other big reason I signed up is to find cool new products and help me make a decision on my first carry gun which is what this post is about. im sure this question has been asked about a billion times but since I am a working college student and don't have a huge budget I need something around $450 or less. guns i've considered: ruger lc9. keltec pf9, S&W shield 9, springfield xds. which of these would you recommend? and any other suggestions would be appreciated. thanks!

Welcome to the site!

Your weapon depends on several factors. Caliber preference, size of the weapon, what you shoot best, etc. I would recommend the Ruger lcp based off what I have read on this site (never owned one). The LC9 is also a great option, especially for the price point you're in. Also, do snubbies interest you? If so, that opens a window to many more options. I would say shoot as many different guns as you're able to and see what you are comfortable with. You might find that one gun that just feels right. As for me I alternate between a S&W Bodyguard .38 and a G19.
    Romans 12:21

I'd like to dissuade you from the itty bitty guns until you can shoot fairly well with a full-size, or possibly a compact model (in the 4" barrel range, like the Glock 19 or 23). The small guns are tough to learn with.