Need advice on 22LR Rifle

This is a discussion on Need advice on 22LR Rifle within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am still fairly new to firearms, and so far have only purchased pistols. I'm looking a getting a 22 rifle, just for target and ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: Need advice on 22LR Rifle

Need advice on 22LR Rifle

I am still fairly new to firearms, and so far have only purchased pistols. I'm looking a getting a 22 rifle, just for target and do get the kids more involved. I have been looking at the Mossberg 715T. I know it's an entry level 22, but if I get one and then decide i really don't like it, I haven't invested too much. I've seen prices ranging from 265$ new (needs to be shipped though ), 300$-400$ gently used, depending on accessories included, and 465$ new, from a local LGS (Shootersworld)

Any opinions and/or experience would be greatly appreciated.

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    I can't give you any info on the Mossberg specifically, but if I were looking for an AR style .22, I'd have to consider the M&P 15-22.

For a general purpose, fun, auto-loader I would go with a Ruger 10/22 over an AR variant, but that's just me.
    NRA Life Member

"I don't believe gun owners have rights." - Sarah Brady

For a first .22 you can't beat a Ruger 10/22. They are relatively cheap and almost endlessly customizable, so if you find yourself not liking it the way it is you can change it.

That LGS price for the Mossberg .22 (I'm assuming it's their AR-style)
    is very high, for that price I would most definitely recommend the Smith and Wesson M&P 15-22. They can be food for around -450 locally for me, or cheaper online, and are fantastic rifles. The great thing about the S&W is that it perfectly mimics the fire controls of a real AR-type rifle, so it provides good familiarization at a fraction of the cost to shoot.