Trigger pull question

This is a discussion on Trigger pull question within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I've got a question about trigger pull on different types of guns. I understand the difference between DA, SA, and DA/SA guns. What I'd like ...

Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By bmcgilvray
  • 1 Post By bdbull
  • 1 Post By bmcgilvray
  • 1 Post By Taurahe

Thread: Trigger pull question

Trigger pull question

I've got a question about trigger pull on different types of guns. I understand the difference between DA, SA, and DA/SA guns. What I'd like to understand is the difference between a SA 5.5# trigger and a DA 5.5# trigger in regards to pull force. Is the only difference between shooting those guns the type of action? What I mean by that is, assuming both guns are ready to fire, if 5.5 pounds of force is applied to both guns, don't they both go bang, regardless of action type?

2. Remove Ads

i'm no expert but i would say the length of pull is far greater on a DA, even with equal pull force required to move the triggers.
    "In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king."

All ya' need t' know, right here on Defensive Carry.

Trigger characteristics and what they mean in a SD gun...
    Kennydale likes this.
    “No possible rapidity of fire can atone for habitual carelessness of aim with the first shot.”

Theodore Roosevelt, The Wilderness Hunter, 1893

I concur with Oklandintheway. Length of pull. Not all guns that are advertised as double action are 100% double action. Some particially cock when the slide cycles and the trigger just completes the cock.
    Good people do not need laws to tell them to act responsibly, while bad people will find a way around laws. Plato

VIP Member
    S. Florida, north of the Miami mess, south of the Mouse trap
    Quote Originally Posted by OldandInTheWay View Post