Zastava M88: Considering it. Reliable after a few hundred rounds?

This is a discussion on Zastava M88: Considering it. Reliable after a few hundred rounds? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Good Afternoon, I'm considering a Zastava M88, which are available for less than $300 new. This all steel model seems to require break-in. Does anyone ...

Thread: Zastava M88: Considering it. Reliable after a few hundred rounds?

Good Afternoon,

I'm considering a Zastava M88, which are available for less than $300 new. This all steel model seems to require break-in. Does anyone know how reliable it is after a few hundred rounds? Anyone ever had one? I'd like to avoid the issues I had with my 1911, which I never would have bought if I had known what I know now.

Stay safe.

-czfellow

I've been shooting for about 30 years and in that time I've learned that with firearms you almost always get what you pay for. If you want this as a carry or HD gun then you are taking a big gamble.

There are other budget makers out there that have a good reputation at your same price point. I STRONGLY suggest a S&W Sigma or S&W HD series pistol instead of what you are looking at. Another good pistol company that's not too pricey is Bersa. Check them out.
    "For the Lord your God will bless you in all your harvest and in all the work of your hands." Deuteronomy 16:15

Other comments?

Anyone ever have one of these Zastava M88 pistols?

Don"t let stupid be your skill set....

Never be ashamed of a scar. It simply means, that you were stronger than whatever tried to hurt you......

Quote Originally Posted by atctimmy View Post
    I've been shooting for about 30 years and in that time I've learned that with firearms you almost always get what you pay for. If you want this as a carry or HD gun then you are taking a big gamble.