Gun to Run Squirrels Off My Bird Feeder

This is a discussion on Gun to Run Squirrels Off My Bird Feeder within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have a lot of trees in my back yard and try as I might, I cannot keep the squirrels off my bird feeder. I ...

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree40Likes

Thread: Gun to Run Squirrels Off My Bird Feeder

VIP Member

I have a lot of trees in my back yard and try as I might, I cannot keep the squirrels off my bird feeder. I have given them their own feeding chair with a corn cob stuck on it - and they use it, but they like the bird seeds too. I want to get something to leave the squirrels with a reminder that the bird feeder is not worth it, but I don't want to kill them.

I am thinking airsoft, but I have no experience with these or know if they are accurate or could kill a squirrel. If airsoft is the right way to go, rifle or pistol? Any recommendations for an accurate airsoft gun? If the gun is all sorts of colorful, that would not be a bad thing either as it may keep the neighbors from calling the cops. I appreciate any info that y'all might have on this issue.
    "I've noticed that everyone that is pro-abortion has already been born." - Ronald Reagan

"When governments fear the people there is liberty. When the people fear the government there is tyranny." Thomas Jefferson

You are only paranoid until you are right - then you are a visionary.

VIP Member
    Hiding inside a bottle of Jim Beam Black.
    Anything less than lethal is not going to deter them. They are persistent if nothing else and will learn to overcome any obstacle you can put up. They will only learn to run at first sight of you. I suggest a Havaheart trap and transport them far away.
    NONAME762 and bmcgilvray like this.
    Retired USAF E-8. Lighten up and enjoy life because: