Failure to Eject..need wisdom...

This is a discussion on Failure to Eject..need wisdom... within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I have a Shield 9mm. I have probably put 1000 rounds through it. I have been extremely satisfied....until yesterday. I'm still fairly new to firearms. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: Failure to Eject..need wisdom...

I have a Shield 9mm. I have probably put 1000 rounds through it. I have been extremely satisfied....until yesterday.

I'm still fairly new to firearms.

I went to my local indoor range to practice. I took 300 rounds with me. Some white box and a bulk pack of UMC (250 rounds). I call it bulk but it was actually 5 trays of 50 in a yellow box. All 115gr fmj.

I have 3 magazines and an ulplula (for reference to about how fast i could move)

I burned through the first 250 rounds in about 35-40 minutes. Then when I got into the last tray of UMC I had 4 FTE in like 35 shots.
    Part of me thinks that the ammo was a "special cause" since I can sort of stratify exactly when the issue cropped up. I also hate blaming FTE on ammo BUT...the shields track record for FTE has been superb.

The nature of the FTE was odd (to me). I would classify the FTE into 2 categories.

1. They werent exactly stove piping. I suppose it would be similar to a stove pipe. I have attached an image.
    FTE.jpg
    I had 2 of these style.