Advice Needed Striker Vs Hammer

This is a discussion on Advice Needed Striker Vs Hammer within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am new to shooting (Since last Nov 2012 Have CHL since May 2013) carry a Ruger SR40C and have been training with it. I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: Advice Needed Striker Vs Hammer

I am new to shooting (Since last Nov 2012 Have CHL since May 2013) carry a Ruger SR40C and have been training with it. I like the ease of the Striker guns, but I have the HOTS for an FNH-FNS40 or a FNX40. The FNX is the Hammer model. I have read that cross training between the Striker and Hammer will through you off. It would be Recommended, to stick with what you know already? Anyone have any problems with mixing both formats?

New Member Array Duckhunter38135's Avatar
    Fundamentals are still the same, your first shot in double action will just be long and heavier. After that, all single action shots will be a very short trigger pull. I don't find an issue bouncing back and forth even in the same range session.
    357and40, ccw9mm and pittypat21 like this.

The nice thing with a hammer is being able to decock easier (assuming the pistol has a decocker). With the striker, you have to remove the magazine, make sure the chamber is empty and then pull the trigger. I have an SR9c (striker) and a Sig SP2022 (hammer) for my wife. I'm actually liking her Sig better right now, so I have a Sig P226 in .40 coming...should be at my dealer tomorrow!

Ace
    GSDSchutzhund likes this.
    Ace
    Gotta Fly or Gonna Die

I've only had striker fired so forgive the dumb question. If you have a round in the chamber with a gun with a hammer, do you have to pull the hammer back before you fire the first shot?