Buying first handgun with second to follow

This is a discussion on Buying first handgun with second to follow within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hi everyone, I am very new to shooting (as in fired less than 20 rounds). Due to circumstances, my wife and I are both wanting ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By ShooterGranny
  • 1 Post By Zralou
  • 1 Post By usmcj

Thread: Buying first handgun with second to follow

Hi everyone,

I am very new to shooting (as in fired less than 20 rounds). Due to circumstances, my wife and I are both wanting to get handguns for conceal carry. We can only afford 1 gun at the moment for both of us so it seems like we should get something my wife can handle. She has very bad wrists and could struggle with anything bigger than a .22 (I know, poor for self defense but better than nothing).
    I was thinking we could get a beretta bobcat or Taurus PT22 to start and also for both of us to build confidence shooting.
    Then I would later get something a little more suitable (maybe a .380).

Does this sound like a viable plan and would anyone recomend the Taurus or Beretta (is Beretta worth an extra $100)?
    Thanks everyone for your help.

Distinguished Member Array Wunderneun's Avatar
    I couldn't recommend either of those as I've never owned them.

Your best bet would be to find a range that rents handguns and have your wife and yourself try out as many as you can.

If her wrists are really that bad, she may never carry anything larger than a .22. But, a .22 in her purse is better than a large rock or the .380 that hurts her.
    Peace Through Strength, Victory Through Devastation
    Devastation to your doorstep in 30 Minutes or Less. Minuteman III--- SAC WILL BE BACK!http://www.defensivecarry.com/forum/signaturepics/sigpic80391_2.gif

I like all kinds of foreign guns. Walther, SIG-Sauer, and H&K.

Distinguished Member Array Nmuskier's Avatar