Cetme; Your Opinions Please.

Cetme; Your Opinions Please.

This is a discussion on Cetme; Your Opinions Please. within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Alright everyone, I need your opinion. A friend of mine has a Cetme 308 he is trying to sell me. The rifle has 6 extra ...

Thread: Cetme; Your Opinions Please.

Distinguished Member Array Gunnutty's Avatar

Question Cetme; Your Opinions Please.

Alright everyone, I need your opinion. A friend of mine has a Cetme 308 he is trying to sell me. The rifle has 6 extra mags and has only been fired a few times since he has had it. I can get the rifle for about 500 dollars. I have gone back over some of the previous posts but we have alot of new members now. I've got a M1 Garand, M1 carbine and two sks carbines. Also I plan on adding an AR of some type so this is not an either or situation. I have no experience with this rifle so any info would be appreciated. Do you think it is still a crap shoot as to whether they feed properly ect....

Thanks for your time.

IMHO i would go for it, The price doesn't sound to bad at least in my neck of the Woods.
    quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Well check the weld on the reciever, check and see if you can remove the triggerpack (cause if you can't it will fail after non-cleaning), check the headspace with a feeler!, if it is from CIA then check the muzzlebrake to see if the retainer pin has been drilled too far and into the inside on the barrel, you want to also check and see if the cleaning kit and buttstock is easily removed and then you want to check if the two buttstock pins are "too tight" to remove, then you want to check if the rear sight was installed backwards (a common problem) and then check the bore.
    These rifles can be AWESOME but do to some shotty and sometimes "unproofed" chambers CETMEs can just be expensive paperweights.