Couldnt buy a rifle today at Wally World... (out of state)

This is a discussion on Couldnt buy a rifle today at Wally World... (out of state) within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am a Florida resident with a Florida CWP, however I recently graduated with a Doctorate in Physical Therapy and took a traveling rotation in ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: Couldnt buy a rifle today at Wally World... (out of state)

Couldnt buy a rifle today at Wally World... (out of state)

I am a Florida resident with a Florida CWP, however I recently graduated with a Doctorate in Physical Therapy and took a traveling rotation in Mississippi (4 months). While here I found a really nice Colt 6920 Socom AR-15 for a very nice price at WM and decided to pull the trigger. The lady at the counter informed me the Florida residents are NOT able to purchase a long gun in the state of Mississippi. .. . .

Ok, so I know we can not purchase a handgun out of state, but I was under the impression that as long as the gun you are trying to purchase is legal in both states, you should be good. Florida being very gun friendly, and Mississippi being gun friendly.. I did not think there would be an issue... but there was.

I also confirmed this by calling another WM in Mississippi, and they told me the same thing. Now I am not sure if this is a WM thing or a state law thing, but either way it really ticked me off.

I find it really strange that I am allowed to CC a handgun in this state, but I cannot purchase a long gun. Something seems wrong.....

2. Remove Ads

It has to be a bordering state for long guns,handguns can only be purchased in state of residency.Since Mississippi does not border your state then you would have to have it shipped to an FFL in your state of residency
    "Outside of the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the country,"
    --Mayor Marion Barry, Washington , DC .