Advice on ammo needed

This is a discussion on Advice on ammo needed within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm new to the world of firearms and the terminology that comes along with it, so please bear with me. I'm open to suggestions and ...

Thread: Advice on ammo needed

Question Advice on ammo needed

I'm new to the world of firearms and the terminology that comes along with it, so please bear with me. I'm open to suggestions and want to learn as much as I can, as fast as I can. Basically I have pretty much been forced to "level the playing field" as far as my neighborhood goes, by arming myself and my household.
    Seems as though the bad guys are leaving the big cities and carrying their bad habits and crime with them to smaller rural areas. I carry a Ruger SP101 and would like to know what would be the best type or brand of ammo to fire through it. It's a .357 that also shoots .38Special and .38+P.
    The closest firing range around here is about 80 miles away and I haven't had the opportunity to fire this gun but on one occasion. I used ammo (.38+p) that they sold at the range, made by Winchester and after a few rounds the chambers became filled with so much gunk, I could barely fit .357 rounds in the chamber.
    I'm open for suggestions and advice from all seasoned gun owners. Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.
    Last edited by Cherokee; December 3rd, 2006 at 10:07 PM.

2. Remove Ads

Welcome to the family.
    First,get a good cleaning kit. Make sure to get all of the lead and carbon cleaned out before you shoot again. 38 lead buildup in 357 chambers can cause big problems (think kaboom).
    Buy snap caps asap so that you can work on trigger pull in btw trips to range. If you can't find snap caps, a bb gun in the yard/basement serves the same purpose (trigger control/sight picture)