Should I buy a Marlin .22 for $50?

This is a discussion on Should I buy a Marlin .22 for $50? within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; A guy at work has a Marlin Bolt action 7 round magazine fed .22 he says he thinks is about 20 years old. He doesn't ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: Should I buy a Marlin .22 for $50?

A guy at work has a Marlin Bolt action 7 round magazine fed .22 he says he thinks is about 20 years old. He doesn't know the model number. He says it's in mint condition, he just doesn't have a use for it. I'm interested in getting it for my daughters to learn to shoot if it's in good condition. He only wants 50 bucks so it seems like a no brainer but I thought I'd ask you guys first as I'm fairly new to the firearms world. What should I look for when inspecting the rifle? Is this a good rifle to teach my daughters? Or should I get something brand new? He is going to let me look at it today and I have to decide then because he has others that are interested as well but he promised me first dibs.

Thanks
    Luke 22:36,38 Then said he unto them, But now, he that hath a purse, let him take it, and likewise his scrip: and he that hath no sword, let him sell his garment, and buy one.
    38 And they said, Lord, behold, here are two swords. And he said unto them, It is enough.

Distinguished Member
    I'd check it out and make sure it cycles well and no rust/corrosion and if it looks good I'd take it in a heart beat. I think any 22 that'll function reliably is well worth $50.
    Tzadik, phreddy, BamaT and 2 others like this.
    The stupidity of some people NEVER ceases to amaze me.

G19 AIWB

Find out what Model Number and also the condition the rifle is in. Marlin bolt .22's are quite popular and if it is in very good condition then a $50 price does not seem unreasonable.