Reloading question

This is a discussion on Reloading question within the General Firearm Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am new to the reloading world. I have about 1000 rounds created under my belt. Tonight I ran into a situation where I am ...

Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By msgt/ret
  • 2 Post By john.shewchuk
  • 1 Post By gasmitty
  • 1 Post By dukalmighty
  • 1 Post By drhuggybear
  • 1 Post By OldVet

Thread: Reloading question

Reloading question

I am new to the reloading world. I have about 1000 rounds created under my belt. Tonight I ran into a situation where I am needing some help/guidance

Scenario: I am using a Lee Ergo Primer tool to load up my 45ACP brass that I have just cleaned and de-primed. What I didn't notice is that some 45ACP Federal Brass with the small pistol primer casings were in my brass. So I am priming away and one doesn't seat right away. I wasn't mashing down but I obviously did it hard enough for the primer to get stuck. Here are some images:
    WP_20131015_003.jpg
    WP_20131015_004.jpg

The brass is now stuck on the attachment. My question is, how do I dislodge it without setting off the primer? I tried some basic movements with a pen but being that it's 11pm I didn't want to risk it going off and scaring the DW and 2 DD's half to death.

Should I get some needle-nose pliers or is this a throw it away and go buy another Lee #2 attachment.

Thoughts?

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    DW, DD???

First don a pair of safety glasses, and then find a punch that will fit through flash hole, then don safety glasses and use a small hammer to tap out the primer then install the proper size primer.
    john.shewchuk likes this.
    When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
    "Don't forget, incoming fire has the right of way."

Yeah, while it is advised to not deprime live primers, I have done it many many times with no issues.

Find a punch and press it out (key word being press and not hit with hammer)